Skip to content

I’ve decided to take the novels in progress off the blog.

September 27, 2012

I’ve been posting the novels in progress on my blog and recently I ended up taking them out.  I had been talking with a woman from Authorhouse and she and I both agreed that it would be a good idea to take them off.

She had a point that all it would take is for one person to take my idea and run with it to Hollywood.  That would be extreme but we all know it has happened many times when someone’s idea gets stolen by another person and then technically it isn’t theirs anymore even though they wrote it.

And then someone could copy it and just simply publish it themselves and wrongly get money for something that isn’t theirs.

Most people are honest and would never do this to someone else, but there’s always the chance that someone could do it.  Most likely it would never happen to me anyway, but I just don’t think I want to take the chance.

I think it was good for me to publish it on the blog for a little bit to get the feedback and the wonderful compliments on it.  I will say it was lovely to hear from a twitter follower that it has the same starts as 50 Shades of Grey only better.  I ate that one up, but at the same time told myself I would never knock on wood that it would actually happen.

When we publish, we just do not know what can happen.  Do we hit the nail on the head or does the hammer miss it and get our thumb?

Everyone has agreed with me that I did the right thing.  Another writer said that it loses novelty with the publishers when it is published in bits and pieces and unanimously it has been said that it is much better to publish the whole thing in book format.

So, I deleted all the chapters I had posted on The Glorious Money Tree trilogy and The Thief Who Wouldn’t Learn and my short story, Alter Ego meets Soulmate (as this one might also be a novel).  And I will just keep my readers waiting with baited breath for the whole thing to come out.

I also decided with The Glorious Money Tree trilogy to start typing up a good outline and skeleton reference notes book to go along with me as I write the trilogy.  It’s getting complicated and I need to make sure I have all my facts straight.

 

Jennifer Jo Fay

Copyrighted September 27, 2012

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

